Creating a peaceful environment is my first step to silencing the mind.   Like a lot of Colitis sufferers, many of my thoughts and memories are painful.  It’s like my mind is trying to numb my physical pain and discomfort by creating mental pain and discomfort.  I know I’m not alone in saying that this is detrimental to our health and if we can’t calm our minds we will never calm our gut.  These are a few things that bring me peace and help calm my mind.

Lighting a candle –  So simple and it really is very soothing.  It’s warm.  It’s earthy.  It’s freakin’ primitive!

photo 2

Fully immersing in a bath.  Head and all – Sometimes it’s just for a few minutes, sometimes it’s for an hour.  I very much enjoy listening to the silence of the water.Sometimes I get crazy and light some candles.  Epsom salt baths are very helpful for an achy gut.

The Fellowship of the Ring –  The story has always brought me peace.  It is very very special to me.   For years I would fall asleep to the movie. It’s been my comfort and my constant.   Having it playing in the background while I go about my day brings me joy.   I can close my eyes and know exactly what’s going on just by the dialogue.  Making it very easy to nap to.    Gandalf’s quote “..so do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”  still brings me to tears.

photo 1

Making my dog cuddle with me –  Some may say this is torture, but I feel okay with it.  It makes me feel happy to pick up the squirmy mass and just hug him for a few seconds.

Eckhart Tolle’s A New Earth –  Tolle in general brings me peace.  He is soft spoken, kind and has a wonderful giggle.  This book!  Ahhh!  I have not even touched the surface of this book.  So fundamentally life changing that I can pick it up and read a paragraph and be kept mentally sane for a good 8 hours.

What brings you peace when you’re all wound up from an aching gut?  Your aching gut creates a crazy brain.  Your crazy brain creates an achy gut.  It is a vicious, suicidal circle that only an IBD sufferer understands.  It is and will be a conscious effort to shut the mind off. But, it is vital that we do.  Let’s stick together, you guys and support each other.

